Carl Lee (27th Feb 1925- 30th Jan 2009)
Born on February 27th, 1925 in Port-of-Spain, Carl Lee attended Tranquillity Boys’ Intermediate School, coming first in the island in the College Exhibition examination. At Queen’s Royal College, he won an Island Scholarship in Mathematics. During World War II, he volunteered his services as an air-raid warden. In 1943, he went on to McGill University, where he obtained his Doctor of Medicine, Master of Surgery (MD CM). Afterwards, he took advantage of an internship in Montreal and Ottawa, specialising in otolaryngology (the more commonly known term for this specialty is ENT for ear, nose and throat). During this time, he gained practical experience in medicine by working at several clinics before returning to Trinidad.
In 1951, Dr Lee entered the Ears, Nose and Throat (ENT) Department at the General Hospital, Port-of-Spain, lending his expertise to general practice. In the same year, he also started his private practice on Frederick Street. The Lee Building was purchased (and renamed) in 1953. Owned by Dr Carl Lee and his father, it housed the practices of the Lee brothers, and became popular for its provision of efficient, convenient and affordable service.
In 1966, Lee became the President of the Trinidad and Tobago Medical Association. He received both the Scroll of Honour and the Gold Medal from the Association in 1980, and an Icon Award from the Trinidad Hilton Hotel and Conference Centre in 2005. He was also a member of several other organisations including the St. John’s Ambulance Brigade, Red Cross Society, QRC Old Boys’ Association, and McGill Graduate Society.
Well into his old age, Dr Lee’s love for medicine, joy in service and desire to help others prevented him from fully retiring. He passed away on January 30th, 2009.